Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee


Mireya Fernández Chimeno
Departament d'Enginyeria Electrònica, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya

Brief Bio
Mireya Fernández Chimeno received a degree in Telecommunications Engineering, specialization in Electronics from the Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya · BarcelonaTech (UPC), Spain, in 1990 and a PhD in Telecommunications Engineering in 1996 from the same University. Since 1998. She is an Associate Professor at the Department of Electronic Engineering of the UPC. She belongs to the Biomedical and Electronic Instrumentation Group, where he develops her research. She also belongs to GCEM, Grup of Electromagnetic Compatibility of the UPC from which she is the Quality Manager, and to the CREB, Center for Research of Biomedical Engineering of the UPC, both centers are part of the TECNIO network of the Generalitat de Catalunya. Mireya is also a member of the advisory board of Health and Sport Lab (, a spin-off created by the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB) and the Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya. Her fields of research interest are the design and development of biomedical instrumentation for medical and non-medical environments and the instrumentation design for electromagnetic compatibility measurements, focused on the development of near-field probes for medical, automotive and aerospace scenarios and on the evaluation of uncertainty of measurement methods. Mireya was a visiting researcher at the Department of Health Sciences, University of York, United Kingdom (2003), and deputy director of teaching laboratories at the School of Telecommunications Engineering (ETSETB), UPC (1996-2000). She was also councilor of the town of Gelida, Barcelona (2007 - 2011), where she was responsible for the fields of new technologies and citizen participation. She is co-author of more than 100 scientific and academic publications (articles, conference communications and books) and 7 patents. She is a member of the organizing committee of EMC Europe 2006 Barcelona, and EMC Europe 2019 Barcelona, Program Chair of Biodevices 2013, member of the Biodevices / Biostec program committee since 2013 and PhyCS since 2017. ... More >>


Farid Amirouche, Orthopedics and Mechanical, University of illinois at Chicago, United States
Dinesh Bhatia, Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering Department North Eastern Hill University (NEHU), North Eastern Hill University, India
Martin Bogdan, Neuromorphic Information Processing, Universität Leipzig, Germany
Luciano Boquete, Electronics, Alcala University, Spain
Fernando Cruz, Independent Researcher, Portugal
Maeve Duffy, Independent Researcher, Ireland
George S. Dulikravich, Mechanical and Materials Eng., MAIDROC, Florida International University, United States
Michele Folgheraiter, Independent Researcher, Germany
Juan Carlos Garcia, Electronics, University of Alcala, Spain
Miguel A. García Gonzalez, Electronic Engineering Department, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
Roman Genov, University of Toronto, Canada
Clemens Heitzinger, Department of Computer Science (Informatics), Technical University Vienna (TU Wien), Austria
Toshiyuki Horiuchi, Advanced Machinery Engineering, Tokyo Denki University, Japan
Leonid Hrebien, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Drexel University, United States
Takuji Ishikawa, Department of Bioengineering and Robotics, Tohoku University, Japan
Sandeep K. Jha, Centre for Biomedical Engineeirng, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India
Bozena Kaminska, Engineering Science, Simon Fraser University, Canada
Walter Karlen, Independent Researcher, Canada
Frank Kirchner, Independent Researcher, Germany
Anton Koeck, Health & Environment, Business unit Nano Systems,, Austria
Ondrej Krejcar, Center for Basic and Applied Research // Faculty of informatics and management, University of Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Hongen Liao, Department of Biomedical Engineering, Tsinghua University, China
Xiao Liu, Tower A, School of Engineering and Design, Brunel University, United Kingdom
Mai S. Mabrouk, Biomedical Informatics, School of Information Technology and computer Science (ITCS), Nile University, Egypt
Jordi Madrenas, Electronics Engineering, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
Ratko Magjarevic, Independent Researcher, Croatia
Jarmo Malinen, Department of Mathematics and Systems Analysis, Aalto University, Finland
Dan Mandru, Mechanisms, Fine Mechanics and Mechatronics, Technical University of Cluj Napoca, Romania
Raimes Moraes, Departamento de Engenharia Eletrica e Eletrônica, Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina, Brazil
Raul Morais, Departamento de Engenharias, UTAD - Escola de Ciencias e Tecnologia, Portugal
Umberto Morbiducci, Mechanics, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Toshiro Ohashi, Faculty of Engineering, Hokkaido University, Japan
Kazuhiro Oiwa, Advanced ICT Research Institute, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Japan
Mónica Oliveira, Departament of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom
Abraham Otero, Escuela Politécnica Superior, Universidad San Pablo CEU, Spain
Danilo Pani, Dept. of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, University of Cagliari, Italy
Sofia Panteliou, Mechanical Engineering & Aeronautics, University of Patras, Greece
Nathalia Peixoto, Electrical and computer engineering, Neural Engineering Lab, George Mason University, United States
Juan J. Ramos Castro, Electronic Engineering Department, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
Mark A. Reed, Yale University, United States
Sang-Hoon Rhee, Independent Researcher, Korea, Republic of
Wim C. Rutten, Neural Engineering/Biomedical Signals and Sytems/Faculty EE,Math and Comp.Science, University of Twente, Netherlands
Seonghan Ryu, Information and Communication Engineering, Hannam University, Korea, Republic of
Mario Sarcinelli-Filho, Electrical Engineering, Federal University of Espirito Santo, Brazil
Chutham Sawigun, Department of Electronic Engineering, Mahanakorn University of Technology, 140 Cheumsamphan rd., Nongchok, Mahanakorn University of Technology, Thailand
Michael J. Schöning, Institute of Nano- and Biotechnologies, FH Aachen, Germany
Mauro Serpelloni, via Branze 38, University of Brescia, Italy
Alcimar B. Soares, Faculdade de Engenharia Elétrica, Universidade Federal de Uberlândia, Brazil
Egon L. van den Broek, Utrecht University, Netherlands
Federico Vicentini, Independent Researcher, Italy
Bruno Wacogne, MN2S, FEMTO-ST, UMR CNRS 6174, France
Shigeo Wada, Department of Mechanical Science & Bioengineering, Graduate School of Engineering Science , Osaka University, Japan
Sen Xu, Process Development and Engineering, Merck & Co., Inc., United States
Jing Yang, Qingdao Institute of Bioenergy and Bioprocess Technology, China
Aladin Zayegh, College of Engineering and Science, Victoria University, Australia