Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee


Ana Cecilia Roque
UCIBIO, Departamento de Química, Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia da Universidade Nova de Lisboa

Brief Bio
Ana Roque is an Associate Professor in Bioengineering at the Chemistry Department, School of Science & Technology at NOVA University (Lisbon, Portugal). Cecilia is a principal researcher at UCIBIO-NOVA and leads the Biomolecular Engineering Lab. She holds a degree in Chemical Engineering (Major in Biotechnology) & a PhD in Biotechnology from Instituto Superior Técnico, and has an Habilitation in Bioengineering from NOVA University of Lisbon. Cecilia has been a Visiting Scholar at the University of Cambridge and at the Catholic University of America, a Post-doctoral researcher at the Institute of Biotechnology (University of Cambridge) and at INESC-MN (Lisbon, Portugal), and a visiting Professor at the University of Cambridge (2006, 2011), University of São Paulo (2015-2018), University of Nantes (2011) and City University of New York (2018). Her research focus on bioengineering, namely on the development of advanced functional materials that combineaffinity receptors with bio-based and sustainable materials for bioseparation, sensing and biomedical applications. Cecilia has been the recipient of several national and international awards, namely a Starting Grant from the European Research Council (2014). She has training from biotech entrepreneurial programs (Cambridge Entrepreneurship Center, University of Cambridge and COTEC, PT). Cecilia has published 91 papers in top journals in bioengineering, multidisciplinary and materials sciences (e.g. Adv. Funct. Materials, Scientific Reports, TIBTECH) with over 2400 citations. She edited 2 books and contributed with 9 book chapters. Her research work has also resulted in 3 international patents. Cecilia has wide experience in supervision with completed 9 postdoctoral fellows, 11 PhD students and 36 Master students. She is a member of several international societies and currently serves as a Board member (2014-2019) and Co-Chair (2019-) to the Bioengineering and Bioprocessing Division of the European Federation of Biotechnology and vice-president (2019-) of the International Society for Molecular Recognition. Cecilia has been part of organising and steering committees of several international conferences and training schools. ... More >>


Carlos Abreu, Escola Superior de Tecnologia e Gestão, Instituto Politécnico de Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Steve Beeby, ECS, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
Youngjae Chun, 1034 Benedum Hall, University of Pittsburgh, United States
Alberto Cliquet Jr, Electr.Engr. & Orthopedics, University of São Paulo & University of Campinas, Brazil
Maria Evelina Fantacci, Department of Physics, University of Pisa and INFN, Italy
Mireya Fernández Chimeno, Departament d'Enginyeria Electrònica, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
Juan Carlos Garcia, Electronics, University of Alcala, Spain
Miguel A. García Gonzalez, Electronic Engineering Department, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
Javier Garcia-Casado, Centro de Investigación e Innovación en Bioingeniería, Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain
Dean Krusienski, Biomedical Engineering Department, Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU), United States
Hiroshi Kumagai, Allied Health Sciences, Kitasato University, Japan
Jarmo Malinen, Department of Mathematics and Systems Analysis, Aalto University, Finland
Simona Miclaus, Communications, IT & Cyber Def., Nicolae Balcescu Land Forces Academy, Sibiu, Romania
Ana Moita, Mechanical Engineering, IN+ - Instituto Superior Tecnico and Academia Militar, Portugal
Robert W. Newcomb, Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Maryland, United States
Abraham Otero, Escuela Politécnica Superior, Universidad San Pablo CEU, Spain
Zafer Ziya Öztürk, Physics, Gebze University Of Technology, Turkey
Wim C. Rutten, Neural Engineering/Biomedical Signals and Sytems/Faculty EE,Math and Comp.Science, University of Twente, Netherlands
Seonghan Ryu, Information and Communication Engineering, Hannam University, Korea, Republic of
Michael J. Schöning, Institute of Nano- and Biotechnologies, FH Aachen, Germany
Mauro Serpelloni, via Branze 38, University of Brescia, Italy
Dong Ik Shin, Biomedical Engineering Research Center, Asan Medical Center, Korea, Republic of
Filomena Soares, Industrial electronics Dept., Algoritmi Research Centre, UM, Portugal
John Tudor, Electronics and Computer Science, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
Pankaj Vadgama, Queen Mary University of London, United Kingdom
Duarte Valério, IDMEC, Instituto Superior Técnico - Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Renato Varoto, Independent Researcher, Brazil

(list not yet complete)